Princess Kitty's Lala-Land

Take a peek of what's inside PK's nut shell

Bikram Yoga June 8, 2009

Filed under: Health — PK @ 2:22 pm
Tags: , , , ,

For those who knows me probably already heard about my crazy addiction to Bikram Yoga (I go about 5-6 times each week).  What exactly is Bikram Yoga?   Bikram or hot or fire yoga is a series of yoga poses done in a heated room, which is usually maintained at a temperature of 105 degrees Fahrenheit (approximately 40 degrees Celsius) w/ 40% humidity.  There is series of 26 postures and two breathing exercises, the class last approximately about 90 minutes .  A vigorous yoga session at this temperature promotes profuse sweating, which is to rid the body of toxins.  It also makes the body very warm, and therefore more flexible.  The heated studio facilitates deeper stretching, prevents injury, relieves stress and tension and detoxifies the body. Bikram yoga was designed to systematically stimulate and restore health to every muscle, joint and organ of the body.

 

Bikram Yoga Postures

 

Is it tough? You bet it is…but the reason why I like it so much is that I really feel the benefit from the practice, you not only detox your system, but you also tone your muscles on every part of your body in that 90 mins.  I was able to see the result as little as two weeks.  I only started my practice around August last year, on and off for about 4 months total.  I didn’t really dedicated to my practice about 2 months ago, b/c my addiction to food really took a toll on my body.  With my determination, I was able to lose the winter weight gain that I got from AYCE KBBQ, taco Trucks and just yelping around. 

How about beginners? Isn’t that too rough for people like us?  Not really…I often heard people saying that, but..I’m not flexible enough, or I can’t meditate or…this is too hardcore for beginners. Believe it or not, I never exercise…neber..nada.  I don’t even walk much all my life!!  But I was able to improve little by little each time I go and now I can hold on my posture w/out falling on my face.  Each person has they own level and challenges and you just work on your own pace in the class regardless about other people around you.  Don’t worry about making a fool out of yourself b/c no one would even notice.  The postures require huge amount of concentration and you don’t even have chance to check out the hot chicks next to you or looking at the person at the other end of the corner falling out the posture.

Which studio would you recommend?  Since I’m around the Irvine area.  I go to Bikram Yoga Irvine, it’s a new facility so it’s super clean, free towels and the class is huge but it also come with a big price tag ($25 per class).  I used to go to Huntington Beach Hot Yoga in Huntington Beach, even though the class is cheaper ($15 per class) but the class get’s really really packed.  There’s pro and cons at each place but rather have some personal place during practice and the free towels save me a lot of trouble of washing them daily.  It is purely up to you, but if you are a newbie, you can join the Huntington Beach facility for $20 unlimited practice for 20 days to just test the water to see if you like it or not, and later on you can try the Irvine facility for $29 unlimited for two weeks.  By then, you should be able to figure out which suit you the most.

Why not give it a try?  😉

 

3 Responses to “Bikram Yoga”

  1. taclinard Says:

    Yeah sounds interesting, but not quite yet, I’ll send holly for now.

  2. Kat Says:

    Yay you have a blog now! ^_^ I am sad that I wasn’t the first to comment though!! Darn Trevor! lol j/k

    I will be at Bikram tomorrow @_@ lol


Leave a Reply

